Thruster 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Run 400m 1-1-1-1

rest as needed between efforts

Michael Giardina 264lbs, Heather Bergeron 165lbs.

“Hey Coach” from CrossFit Taranis (Canada).

Let me address this little article I saw on the affiliate page. This is a Crossfit gym in Canada, they were dogging on athletes coaching other athletes in the gym. This happens every now and then in our box, some of our firebreathers giving cues and instruction to a lot of the newer people. Let me be crystal clear on this.To my firebreathers, I don’t mind it at all, we have a few crossfitters that have been in the game for quite some time and have many useful instructional tools, tips and tricks that they have picked up over the years. I cannot be everywhere at once and it takes quite some time to get the on every movement up to par. It takes repetition…and lots of it…and you will do things wrong…again, and again, and again. If they see something unsafe, sketchy, or a movement is just plain out of whack, its hard to just sit back and watch it happen! So I really do appreciate the heads up on someone who is doing something that I don’t see.  Just as long as you follow the same rules as I do.

*If you don’t know it, don’t teach it! Stay in your lane, teach what you know, and if you don’t know it, don’t B.S. it! If I have no clue how to teach someone something, I usually preface my sentence with, “I’m not completely sure about this, but this is the way I understand it.” Understand that the last thing I want is you doing something unsafe or completely wrong, so I wont have you do it. Then I’ll be sure to get back with you as soon as possible after some research on a better way to teach it or do it. The last thing I want is to get you guys injured, then you are out for a while and getting injured SUCKS

Get ready for me to head out on a tangent. Regarding mistakes…Voltaire once said “Le Mieux est l’ennemi du bien.”  Which translates roughly into “The perfect is the enemy of the good.”

**No movement that you perform is ever perfect…ever…You will NEVER have a perfect clean and jerk, air squat, or deadlift. They can be dead on and look damn close. But the time you think you are perfect, you stop trying to make progress, thats when you start to make mistakes. Be smart about where you are, understand your benchmarks. What you are capable of, and what your next step is in the scaling.

**Don’t be afraid to make mistakes, they are going to happen. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve hit myself with a barbell, fallen down, bailed out, hurt myself doing something stupid and looked stupid doing something (every day) Lets have fun doing stupid looking things together. But not TOO Stupid. Dont try max effort back squats in a ballet position with your feet turned all the way out because you just saw it on youtube…without  a spotter (Ha) But really, there is a logical reason why I tell you to do, or to not do something. I don’t talk just to hear myself talk…most of the time.

**If you have a question, chime in! don’t be shy, if you aren’t comfortable doing something then let me know and we will spend some time on it. I don’t think I have ever really allowed a movement to happen that I wasn’t sure that you were doing it safe enough to perform it with the weight I have assigned to you during a wod.

**When I tell you to do something and you just feel too injured and extremely sore to do it… TELL ME!! THERE IS A FINE LINE BETWEEN SORENESS AND INJURY. When I hear an “ouch” you might hear me ask some of these questions or make some of these statements…here is why I say these things.

1. What Happens: I see you rubbing your shoulder, your leg, or you say “ouch” or just start cursing.

I Say: Did you hurt yourself? are you okay?

Why: I want to know, did you hurt yourself? or are you just sore? Is this something persistant? Now don’t lie. I need to know. Soreness is one thing, Extremely sore is another, once you venture into extreme soreness, that is when injury starts to peer his ugly head. So tell me, and don’t be afraid to bow out of a workout. Once proper rest and recovery is ignored, light soreness turns turns to heavy soreness which turns into injury.

2. What Happens: I see you stretching out on your own pre workout and post warm up or guarding a particular muscle.

I say: You okay? warmed up enough?

Why: Some of us have been stupid in the past, once you injure yourself, you are injured for life. You have now changed the way your body is put together permanently. Now you can get around these tight spots, trigger points, knots, etc. But sometimes a lot of us have “issues” that need some special attention prior to the wod and we can all but get rid of them but every now and then the will come back and “talk to you” Mine is my upper back, I constantly have issues with it and any time I see that there will be any kind of pulling in the wod I hit it up with the trigger point ball prior to the wod. Its hard to address everyones individual issues during a warm up, so Before or right after the general warm up  I always encourage, if you have tight shoulders or a really partial range of motion in a particular movement, stretch em out as soon as you walk though the door. If you have a muscle knot, grab a ball and work on it. If you don’t know how to do any of these things, then let me know! and I will help you out as much as I can. These persistant and nagging injuries…There is a reason they are there, if an injury doesnt get better is just going to get worse…and worse…and worse…until addressed or a bad injury will occur. Dont wait until its a full blown injury to address it. Please. DONT BE STUBBORN!

That being said. If its just light soreness from a prior wod. Set your purse down, and as we have been telling everyone lately, Don’t be a Bi$ch and to quote a few things from the Crossfit Journal…

“A little pain is no big deal. We wouldn’t be CrossFitters without it. But when pain is a result of poor form, inefficiency and strained performance, then it is a big deal. For example, if your right knee is sore, then your body will instinctively bend away from it to reduce the strain. It reduces the workload on one area and adds it to another area. This could lead to increased strain on the low back or the opposite ankle, knee or hip. Your right knee might stop hurting, but you are left wondering why your Fran time has gotten worse and why your left hip is suddenly bothering you.”

**Even if you are sore and you just want to come in to move around and get a sweat, let me know you are hurting and you want to scale it down and just get to feeling a little more mobile. Then do it. Exercise can improve the circulation to help the healing process by removing damaged cells from the injured area and by sending new cells for growth and repair to the injured area. It can aid in stimulating the body’s natural growth-hormone release and improve the healing rate. Exercise can help to correct compensatory muscle patterns due to muscle guarding associated with pain and injury. I would rather see someone back quickly at a highly modified workout with less weight, fewer reps and modified movements instead of someone staying at home on the couch. Inertia plays a mighty role in recovery, and an object at rest on a couch can stay there for a long time.

**Dont complain about the warm up being hard. Don’t forget rule No. 1: If you don’t have time to warm up, you don’t have time to work out! A proper warm-up will prepare the tendons, muscles and ligaments and make them less likely to tear. It will help warm up the joint surfaces and work in the synovial joint fluid that helps lubricate the surfaces of the joints. It will also help train the nerves, muscles and joints to work together. A good warm-up may include 5 minutes of foam rolling and 10 minutes of skills involving mobility, dynamic stretching and lifting mechanics. Even if you are short on time, spend at least 5 minutes warming up. Take this warm-up time to physically and mentally prepare yourself for the workout.

It’s on You

The No. 1 person who helps you heal and recover from a sub-failure injury is you. You eat the food. You get the rest. You do the exercises. Whether or not you ask for help, you work through your own rehab and recovery. How you do each one of these is up to you. Don’t be afraid to take a step back in your training by dialing down the volume or intensity. Modify your workout as needed. And don’t wait for a full-blown injury before you start to make improvements in your form and posture. Focus on form and technique through proper range of motion. Focus on form first, and then build intensity. The results will be astounding.

“Do Women Sweat Differently Than Men?” from the New York Times.

The Cycle of Behavior: Part 1” with Tony BlauerCrossFit Journalpreview video [wmv] [mov]

Sneak Peek at the Team Rogue Vs. Team Again Faster Tahoe Throwdown – video [wmv] [mov]

Interview with Mikko Salo at the Team Rogue Vs. Team Again FasterTahoe Throwdown – video [wmv] [mov]


Highlights from the “Amazing Grace” fundraiser at CrossFit by Overload – video [wmv] [mov]


