Arm_with_Median_Nerve

I’ve had a few people come up to me and mention numbness and tingling in the hands or forearms, either when waking up or during overhead squats.

Now, I want to start this off by saying I am not a doctor, but from what I can gather. Typically these people talking with me have not that absolute best shoulder mobility/movement patterns, and it happens either when it a poor position while sleeping, or with added volume of overhead work, causing the shoulder / pec and downstream to tighten up.

I know that in my own particular case, pinkie side numbness can be remedied by working on my pec minor, thumb side numbness can be from the anterior scalene. I also worked with some nerve gliding movements that helped quite a bit. What is a nerve glide

Typically a doctor will just tell you (or if you webMD yourself) that you have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. I most definitely agree with 70s big here, that more often than not its over simplification. I have heard a LOT of people get diagnosed with Carpal Tunnel that immediately move toward surgery or the like rather than giving alternative methods a try. Like not having shitty posture all day while sitting.

Let me repeat, I AM NOT A DOCTOR…but…

If it were me, I would start off doing some mobility at the pec minor and anterior scalene, if you have any other postural/mobility issues with the shoulder, you could address those as well.

Then wash that down with some of these: Neural Glides for Ulnar, Median & Radial Nerves (these seemed to help the most with the numbness)

Stop sitting with the medial elbow in contact with surfaces. Sleep in a better position, Sit and stand in better positions too, and see if that starts to work a bit more.

Oh, and read those links that are in this post. and maybe Ray Ray will post to comments and give his two cents, he is a far more intelligent man than I!

 

